In accordance with Michigan Law (Michigan Act 339 of 1919 THE DOG LAW) all dogs in the state of Michigan must be licensed every year starting at the age of four months. A dog that is new to Oakland County must be licensed within 30 days.

Beginning June 2, 2017, Oakland County Animal Control Census Team workers will begin going door to door in various communities in an attempt to ensure residents are in compliance with State Law regarding dog licensing.

Licenses purchased after June 1st are considered delinquent. Delinquent license fees are $30.

Dog licenses are available at the Treasurer’s office, some local veterinarians, or at Oakland County Animal Control located at 1700 Brown Rd, Auburn Hills (Phone: 248-391-4102).

You can also order your dog license online by clicking here. There is an additional charge for this service.

Three-year licenses are now available. Please contact the Treasurer’s office for details and documentation requirements. .

Documentation Needed

A valid rabies certificate must be shown every year when obtaining a dog license.

Fees

Spayed/Neutered

$7.50

 

Senior Citizens Price

$6.75

65 years and older

Male/Female

$15.00

 

Male/Female

$13.50

65 years and older

     

Delinquent (after June 1)

$30.00

All dogs

     

After June 1st (Four Month Old Dog, New Resident, or New Dog only)

Spayed/Neutered

$7.50

 

Male/Female

$15.00

 

Lost Tags

Replacement tags can be issued at the Treasurer’s office

White copy or original dog license application

No Cost

No original copy of dog license application

$1.50 processing fee